Skip to main content
Get Care MyChart Find a Provider Find a Location
Senior shaking hands and smiling at public health employee.

About Fayette County Public Health

Fayette County Public Health Department is here to preserve the health of the public through the detection of issues which concern health such as natural disaster or unsafe practice consequences. We protect the public from communicable diseases through surveillance and investigation. We also promote the health of all through education, referral to services and health.

Our history

Fayette County Public Health was founded in 1974 with one nurse responsible for communicable disease follow up. The agency expanded with services for the community with grant dollars for the Iowa Department of Public Health.

In 1982 the agency became Medicare certified. In 1996 Fayette County Public Health merged with Palmer Homecare to become Palmer Community Services.

In 2016, Palmer Lutheran Health Center formally joined Gundersen Health System and we became Gundersen Palmer Public Health.

Fayette County Board of Health

The Fayette County Board of Health exists to address the health needs of all the residents of Fayette County, regardless of race, creed, age or gender, with a goal to encourage healthy, responsible citizens. This will be accomplished through education, fair allocation of available resources and access to Public Health. 

More about the Board of Health
How to connect

You can find us at 200 Jefferson St. in West Union.

1900 South Ave.
La Crosse, WI 54601

(608) 782-7300

Language Support:
Jump back to top