Please review our visitor restrictions before coming to our hospitals or clinics. | Get the latest on COVID-19.

There is no panel matching the key "MicroAlert"

Meet Regulatory & Best Practice Standards

The Joint Commission Standard for end-of-life care

Chapter: Provision of Care, Treatment, and Services
Introduction to Standard - Patients who are near to or at the end of their lives need to receive care that addresses their psychosocial, emotional, and spiritual needs. To provide care that meets these needs, staff members involved in patient care require education about the unique needs of dying patients and their families.

Chapter: Human Resources

  • Introduction to the Standard - The hospital defines staff qualifications.
  • Introduction to the Standard - The hospital provides orientation to staff.
  • Introduction to the Standard - Staff participates in ongoing education and training.
  • Introduction to the Standard - Staff is competent to perform their responsibilities.

Resolve Through Sharing provides education to create a standard operating procedure for bereavement care throughout a hospital system, providing staff with specific expectations of care when a patient dies. Coordination of care through documentation and education ensures consistent care. Resolve Through Sharing coordinators have the knowledge and background to assess competencies, and can provide Resolve Through Sharing training to their staff.

Triple Aim

Originally developed by the Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI), Triple Aim is a framework that describes an approach to optimizing health system performance. Adopted by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS), the goals of Triple Aim are:

  • Improving patient experience
  • Improving health of the population
  • Affordability

Implementing Resolve Through Sharing practices in a standardized bereavement program will help you achieve Triple Aim goals by ensuring that care in your organization - in any unit and at every point of entry - will meet the holistic needs of every grieving patient and family.

ACO quality measures

ACOs create incentives for health care providers to work together to treat an individual patient across care settings. The Medicare Shared Savings Program will reward ACOs that lower health care costs while meeting performance standards on quality of care. ACO quality measures include:

  • Patient/Caregiver Experience: How well your providers communicate
  • Patient/Caregiver Experience: Access to Specialists
  • Patient/Caregiver Experience: Health Promotion and Education
  • Patient/Caregiver Experience: Shared Decision Making

Resolve Through Sharing provides specific education on communicating with the bereaved and promotes palliative and hospice care and accessing these specialties. Creating a Resolve Through Sharing standard of care that is multidisciplinary, supported, and used with EHR at every point of entry on every unit decreases variation in care experiences. Resolve Through Sharing teaches Guided Participation to engage patients and families in shared decision making.

(Retrieved from

Take Action